fbpx

Orlando Driving While License Suspended Attorney

Under Florida Statute 322.34, it is a civil traffic offense to unknowingly drive a vehicle while your driver’s license was canceled, suspended, or revoked and it is a criminal offense to knowingly drive a vehicle while your driver’s license was canceled, suspended, or revoked.

There are many different factors that go into Driving While License Suspended (DWLS) cases: Were you driving while knowing that your license was suspended? Is this your first offense? Did you cause serious bodily harm to someone? Etc. 

For some of the above factors, it could be the difference between a criminal or civil matter and these are a few of the reasons why each case is unique. Also, each time you are adjudicated guilty of a DWLS it will count as one of your three strikes to become a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO). A person classified as an HTO will have a 5-year driver’s license revocation, so be careful.

If you are caught driving while knowing your license is suspended or revoked, not only will it go on your driving record, but also your criminal record. 

What Can Suspend Your License?

In Florida, there are a variety of reasons your license would be suspended, including:

Elements of a DWLS Case

For the State to prosecute someone for a DWLS case, they must prove:

  • The driver’s license was suspended, revoked, or canceled
  • The driver had advanced knowledge of the suspension, revocation, or cancellation
  • The vehicle was driven on a Florida highway/roadway

DWLS without Knowledge

If you are charged with driving while your license is suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified WITHOUT your knowledge it is a civil offense instead of a criminal matter. It is also important to remember that paying your DWLS ticket admits guilt.

  • Court is NOT mandatory
  • $164 fine in Orange County
  • Driving School
  • Court costs
  • Points on your license
  • Strike towards becoming an HTO

DWLS with Knowledge

Being charged with DWLS while you did have knowledge of your suspension is a criminal matter and you will be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor for a first offense. This is a more serious matter than a DWLS without knowledge and brings bigger penalties.

 

  • Court will be mandatory
  • It will be on your criminal record
  • Up to a $500 fine
  • Classes and court costs
  • Up to 60 days in jail or probation
  • Strike towards becoming an HTO

DWLS 2nd Degree with Knowledge

If you are found to be DWLS with knowledge a second time, you will be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor.

 

  • Court will be mandatory
  • It will be on your criminal record
  • Up to a $1000 fine
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • Strike towards becoming an HTO

DWLS 3rd Degree with Knowledge

If you are charged with DWLS with knowledge and you have two prior convictions for the same thing, you will be charged with a misdemeanor of the first degree with a minimum of 10 days in jail. If this was your third offense in 5 years, you may also become a Habitual Traffic Offender which brings an automatic 5-year revocation of your driver’s license.

 

  • Court will be mandatory
  • Minimum 10 days jail
  • It will be on your criminal record
  • Up to a $1000 fine
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • Strike towards becoming an HTO

    DWLS Causing Serious Bodily Injury or Death

    If you were DWLS with knowledge and caused a fatality or serious bodily harm to another person you will be charged with a third-degree felony.

    • Court will be mandatory
    • It will be on your criminal record
    • Up to a $5000 fine
    • Up to 5 years in jail or probation
    • Strike towards becoming an HTO

    The state will most likely take this much more seriously than other DWLS offenses and it’s very important to contact an experienced DWLS attorney immediately.

    Orlando DWLS Attorney

    If you are caught driving with a suspended license, whether with knowledge or without, you should also contact a law firm that specializes in criminal traffic matters. Attorney Brandon Gans has over a decade of traffic experience and is ready to help fight your license suspension and get you out of court and back on the road.

    I would highly recommend Gans Law to any friends or family. As this was my first experience with a law firm, Brandon Gans was very helpful and informative on the steps I needed to take. He was professional, knowledgeable, and quick to respond to any questions or concerns, making the process much easier. I am pleased to say my case was successfully dismissed.

    - Monica

    message us

    Firm Overview

    Gans Law offers a variety of services that range from criminal defense to suspended licenses. Here at Gans Law, we understand that sometimes good people find themselves dealing with complex legal matters.

    Learn More

    Case Results

    Our Reviews

    Serving all of central Florida

    Orange

    Hillsborough

    Osceola

    Brevard

    Seminole

    Polk

    Volusia

    Pinellas

    What is Disorderly Conduct?

    In Florida, disorderly conduct is any behavior that disrupts a public space. Some common examples include making excessively loud noise, drunk and disorderly behavior, and fighting in the street. Florida Statute 877.03 defines disorderly conduct as acts that are of a...

    Can You Lose Your License for Leaving the Scene of an Accident?

    Under Florida law, it is a criminal offense for leaving the scene of an accident. Florida Statute 316.061 states that leaving the scene of an accident, also known as a “hit and run,” occurs when the driver of the vehicle involved in a crash resulting in damage to...

    New Florida Law: Playing Loud or Excessive Music

    On July 1, 2022, a Florida law went into effect that prohibits excessive music and other sounds from being played inside the vehicle. According to Florida Statute 316.3045, it is unlawful for any person operating or occupying a motor vehicle on a street or highway to...

    What’s the Difference Between Assault & Battery in Florida?

    Although assault and battery offenses in Florida are similar and are discussed together, they are two distinct criminal offenses. In Florida, the main difference between assault and battery is the absence or presence of physical contact. Assault is a verbal or...

    What are Ignition Interlock Devices?

    An ignition interlock device (IID) is a car breathalyzer that prevents drivers from starting their car until they blow into the device. In Florida, these are required for certain driving under the influence (DUI) convictions.  An ignition interlock device is a proper...

    What are the benefits of having your record expunged?

    If you have ever been arrested in Florida, whether or not the charges were dropped or a jury found you “Not Guilty,” your arrest is still public record. To prevent anyone from viewing your criminal record, you would want to look into having it sealed or expunged.  Not...

    Real Life Criminal Court vs. TV Court

    The courtroom dramas you see on television are fictionalized versions of what actually happens in real-life criminal court. On TV, it seems as if every criminal case goes to a trial and the defense and prosecution have to present their cases in front of a jury....

    Orlando Street Racing Attorney

    In Florida, street racing occurs when the driver competitively drives a vehicle in a speeding contest. Florida Statute 316.191 outlines the four aspects of racing in Florida: Speed or acceleration contest - driving any vehicle (including motorcycles) in any race,...

    Can Florida Toll Violations Lead to a License Suspension?

    In Florida, drivers are accustomed to the many toll roads across the state. With the advancements in technology, drivers can now use their E-Pass or SunPass to quickly pass through the toll booths. However, as with all technology, complications can arise, such as not...

    Why Should I Hire a DUI Attorney?

    If you get caught driving under the influence, you will be charged with a criminal case and will have to appear in court. This is something you can try and fight on your own, however, it is not recommended. Driving Under the Influence cases are very serious and the...

    News & Posts

    FAQs

    Trivia

    Sanford, FL

    (407) 500-4267

    400 W. 25th St
    Sanford, FL 32771

    Hours: By Appointment Only

    Clearwater, FL

    (407) 500-4267

    8200 Bryan Dairy Road Suite 340
    Largo, FL 33777

    Hours: By Appointment Only

    Send Us a Message!

    407-500-4267

    More Contact Info