fbpx

Driving Without Insurance in Florida

When driving in Florida, it is required you have auto insurance. If you get caught driving without insurance, you can face penalties, including the loss of your driver’s license. Florida is a no-fault state, meaning that insurance is responsible for covering damages in the event of an accident, regardless of who is at fault.

The financial responsibility and no-fault laws in Florida require that all drivers carry minimum insurance coverage, including $10,000 in property damage and $10,000 in personal injury protection.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance 

First Offense:

  • License and registration suspended for up to 3 years unless you provide proof of insurance
  • $150 reinstatement fee

Second Offense:

  • License and registration suspended for up to 3 years unless you provide proof of insurance
  • $250 reinstatement fee if within 3 years of the first offense

Subsequent Offenses:

  • License and registration suspended for up to 3 years unless you provide proof of insurance
  • $500 reinstatement fee if within 3 years of the first offense

If you prove you have obtained the proper insurance before your license or registration is suspended, the reinstatement fee will be waived.

Orlando Driving Attorney

If for any reason you decide to drop your insurance, you must surrender your license plate before your insurance lapses. The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can suspend your license, registration, and vehicle tags for up to 3 years or until you get a new insurance policy. 

Since Florida is a no-fault state, getting into an accident can be complicated if you do not have insurance. Your personal insurance will typically cover medical bills and property damage. 

If you are not at fault for the car accident but have medical bills and damages to your car, you will have to pay these bills out of pocket. If you are at fault for the accident, the other driver can file a lawsuit against you if they have severe injuries, even though Florida is a no-fault state.

If you are caught driving without insurance and are facing license suspension in Central Florida, contact experienced traffic Attorney Brandon Gans for a free case evaluation. 

My lawyer Mr. Gans from start-to-finish took my DUI case with immediate expertise communicating to me my exact position I was in, available rights and always kept me feeling confident to the decisions that were made which resulted in a complete dismissal judgement in my favor. Having worked alongside attorneys for over 10 years myself Mr. Gans expertise and results driven performance has definitely placed himself in a league of his own within his industry. I would highly recommend him to anyone who is in need of services he and his firm offer

- Jayson

message us

Firm Overview

Gans Law offers a variety of services that range from criminal defense to suspended licenses. Here at Gans Law, we understand that sometimes good people find themselves dealing with complex legal matters.

Learn More

Case Results

Our Reviews

Serving all of central Florida

Orange

Hillsborough

Osceola

Brevard

Seminole

Polk

Volusia

Pinellas

What is Disorderly Conduct?

In Florida, disorderly conduct is any behavior that disrupts a public space. Some common examples include making excessively loud noise, drunk and disorderly behavior, and fighting in the street. Florida Statute 877.03 defines disorderly conduct as acts that are of a...

Can You Lose Your License for Leaving the Scene of an Accident?

Under Florida law, it is a criminal offense for leaving the scene of an accident. Florida Statute 316.061 states that leaving the scene of an accident, also known as a “hit and run,” occurs when the driver of the vehicle involved in a crash resulting in damage to...

New Florida Law: Playing Loud or Excessive Music

On July 1, 2022, a Florida law went into effect that prohibits excessive music and other sounds from being played inside the vehicle. According to Florida Statute 316.3045, it is unlawful for any person operating or occupying a motor vehicle on a street or highway to...

What’s the Difference Between Assault & Battery in Florida?

Although assault and battery offenses in Florida are similar and are discussed together, they are two distinct criminal offenses. In Florida, the main difference between assault and battery is the absence or presence of physical contact. Assault is a verbal or...

What are Ignition Interlock Devices?

An ignition interlock device (IID) is a car breathalyzer that prevents drivers from starting their car until they blow into the device. In Florida, these are required for certain driving under the influence (DUI) convictions.  An ignition interlock device is a proper...

What are the benefits of having your record expunged?

If you have ever been arrested in Florida, whether or not the charges were dropped or a jury found you “Not Guilty,” your arrest is still public record. To prevent anyone from viewing your criminal record, you would want to look into having it sealed or expunged.  Not...

Real Life Criminal Court vs. TV Court

The courtroom dramas you see on television are fictionalized versions of what actually happens in real-life criminal court. On TV, it seems as if every criminal case goes to a trial and the defense and prosecution have to present their cases in front of a jury....

Orlando Street Racing Attorney

In Florida, street racing occurs when the driver competitively drives a vehicle in a speeding contest. Florida Statute 316.191 outlines the four aspects of racing in Florida: Speed or acceleration contest - driving any vehicle (including motorcycles) in any race,...

Can Florida Toll Violations Lead to a License Suspension?

In Florida, drivers are accustomed to the many toll roads across the state. With the advancements in technology, drivers can now use their E-Pass or SunPass to quickly pass through the toll booths. However, as with all technology, complications can arise, such as not...

Why Should I Hire a DUI Attorney?

If you get caught driving under the influence, you will be charged with a criminal case and will have to appear in court. This is something you can try and fight on your own, however, it is not recommended. Driving Under the Influence cases are very serious and the...

News & Posts

FAQs

Trivia

Sanford, FL

(407) 500-4267

400 W. 25th St
Sanford, FL 32771

Hours: By Appointment Only

Clearwater, FL

(407) 500-4267

8200 Bryan Dairy Road Suite 340
Largo, FL 33777

Hours: By Appointment Only

Send Us a Message!

407-500-4267

More Contact Info