fbpx

Weapons Charges

The Second Amendment to the United States Constitution provides citizens with the right to bear arms. However, this right is limited to protect the safety and welfare of those citizens. Below is a list of the most common weapons charges and violations:

Carrying Concealed Weapon or Firearm

Florida Statute 790.01

The weapon must be on or about the person and must be concealed from the ordinary sight of another person.

If convicted of carrying a concealed weapon, for example, a knife, you can face:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to one year of probation
  • Up to $1,000 in fines

If convicted of carrying a concealed firearm, you can face:

  • Up to five years in prison
  • Up to five years of probation
  • Up to $5,000 in fines.

Possession of Firearm or Ammunition by a Convicted Felon

Florida Statute 790.23

A person previously convicted of any felony can receive up to 15 years in prison for possession of a single bullet.

If a convicted felon is caught with a firearm or ammo, punishments could be:

  • Up to 15 years in prison.
  • Up to 15 years of probation.
  • Up to $10,000 in fines.

Possession of a Weapon/Firearm During Commission of a Felony

Florida Statute 790.07

Does not require the weapon to be used or even displayed. Mere possession is sufficient for a conviction.

Possession of a weapon during the commission of a felony is punishable by:

  • Up to 5 years in prison.
  • Up to 5 years of probation.
  • Up to $5,000 in fines.

Possession of a firearm during the commission of a felony is punishable by:

  • Up to 15 years in prison.
  • Up to 15 years of probation.
  • Up to $10,000 in fines.

Improper Exhibition of a Weapon or Firearm

Florida Statute 790.10

The weapon must be displayed to another in a rude, careless, angry, or threatening manner.

Penalties include:

  • Up to one year in jail.
  • Up to 12 months of probation.
  • Up to $1,000 in fines.

Discharging a Firearm in Public or on Residential property

Florida Statute 790.15

  • The firearm can either be discharged in public, over a roadway, over occupied premises, or from a residential property.
  • Penalties depend on the location of the offense and whether you were occupying a vehicle at the time of discharge.

Shooting or Throwing Deadly Missiles

Florida Statute 790.19

The title of this crime can be misleading. This offense involves a wanton or malicious shooting or throwing of a stone or other hard object likely to cause death or great bodily harm into a building, motor vehicle, train, or vessel.

Altering or Removing the Serial Number from a Firearm

Florida Statute 790.27

The serial number must be removed with the intent to disguise the true identity of the firearm.

Weapons charges are not a desired entry on anyone’s criminal record. Attorney Brandon Gans can help to avoid a conviction on these charges. He can even assist in regaining possession of a weapon seized by law enforcement.

First off I want to thank Mr. Gans for not just brushing me off. He consulted me and offered many solutions to my problem. Honestly it wasn’t for him I’d be completely lost. Thanks again so much Mr.Gans!!!!

- Gilbert

message us

Firm Overview

Gans Law offers a variety of services that range from criminal defense to suspended licenses. Here at Gans Law, we understand that sometimes good people find themselves dealing with complex legal matters.

Learn More

Case Results

Our Reviews

Serving all of central Florida

Orange

Orange County, FL

Osceola

Orange County, FL

Seminole

Orange County, FL

Volusia

Orange County, FL

Hillsborough

Orange County, FL
Brandon Gans

Brandon Gans

Attorney

Julie Clarke

Julie Clarke

Attorney

Will I Go To Jail For My First DUI?

If you are ever charged with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence), you’ll probably have a lot of questions, including can you go to jail for a first offense? For a first-time DUI in Florida, it depends on the severity of the case. Florida is tough on drunk driving, so...

5 Things Not to Do When Facing Criminal Charges

It can be a stressful and scary time when you are facing criminal charges. During the entirety of your criminal case, from arrest to your last court appearance, it is best to have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side. They can help you navigate this...

What To Do When There Is A Warrant Out For Your Arrest

When a criminal offense is committed, an arrest warrant may be issued to bring the person before the court. If you believe there is a warrant out for you, it is best to contact a criminal defense attorney. An attorney will have the knowledge to guide you through this...

What is a Pretrial Diversion Program?

Pretrial Diversion Programs are typically intended for first-time offenders or misdemeanor crimes. However, we can sometimes get our clients into the program if they have some criminal history or are charged with a felony. The purpose of these diversion programs is to...

What Happens If I Miss My Court Date?

If you ever miss a court date, the court issues a warrant for your arrest. As soon as you can, appear in court to recall the warrant. Acting quickly shows you are serious about the case. Failing to act quickly can lead to police showing up at your house or job and...

False Accusations

Nobody ever wants to be accused of a crime and it’s worse if you never even committed the crime. Criminal convictions carry serious penalties, including heavy fines or jail time. If you have been falsely accused of a crime, you should retain an attorney right away as...

Landmark Florida Cases

Throughout history, there have been several landmark cases that have shaped the legal landscape in Florida and even the country. Let’s take a look at some of these cases. Gideon v. Wainwright In 1961, Clarence Gideon was arrested and charged with breaking and entering...

What’s the Difference? — Careless vs. Reckless

Do you know the difference between Careless Driving and Reckless Driving? Under Florida Statute, careless driving is considered a civil offense while reckless driving is considered a criminal offense.  Reckless driving (Florida Statute 316.192) is any person who...

Live Out of State but Arrested in Florida

Being arrested is never a pleasant experience, especially when the arrest happens outside of your home state. When arrested, no matter if you’re in your home state or out of state, you likely have to post bail and appear in court.  According to Criminal Defense...

Is it Possible to Reinstate a Suspended License in Florida?

In Florida, there are a number of reasons for a suspended license, such as: Too many points; Failure to pay traffic tickets or court costs; Failure to pay red light camera tickets or toll violations; Failure to appear in court; Being deemed a habitual traffic...

News & Posts

FAQs

Trivia

Orlando, FL

(407) 500-4267

132 E. Colonial Dr, Suite 200
Orlando, FL 32801

Hours: 9:00am-6:00pm

Tampa, FL

(407) 500-4267

8200 Bryan Dairy Road Suite 340
Largo, FL 33777

Hours: By Appointment Only

407-500-4267

Send Us a Message!

More Contact Info