fbpx

Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Florida

If you ever get into an accident, you should never leave the scene until you are cleared to do so by law enforcement. Even if you are not at fault, you must still comply with the law and exchange information. If you are convicted of leaving the scene, it can result in either a misdemeanor or felony penalties, depending on if the accident caused bodily injury or death.

According to Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, between 2015 and 2020 there were 600,185 hit-and-run crashes, resulting in 1,298 traffic fatalities.

According to Florida Statute 316.061 leaving the scene of an accident, also known as a “hit and run,” occurs when the driver of the vehicle involved in a crash resulting in damage to property leaves the scene without providing the necessary information to the owner of the property. This includes their name, address, registration information, and driver’s license. If the property is unattended, such as a parked car, you must leave a note with your name and contact information.

If the accident results in injury or death to another person, Florida Statute 316.027 states that the driver must stop immediately and provide their name, address, registration information, and driver’s license. If the other party is seriously injured or deceased and cannot take your information, you must provide the information to law enforcement upon their arrival. For the injured party, you should call an ambulance for the other party to get to a doctor’s office or hospital for medical treatment.

Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident

In Florida, the penalties for leaving the scene of an accident increase in severity depending on if the accident or crash involves property damage, personal injury, or death.

Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Property Damage (Unattended Property)

  • Second-degree misdemeanor
  • Up to 60 days in jail
  • Up to $500 fine

Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Property Damage (Attended Property)

  • First-degree misdemeanor
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • Up to $1,000 fine

Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Injury

  • Third-degree felony
  • Up to five years in prison
  • Up to $5,000 fine
  • Driver’s License revoked for at least three years (Florida Statute 316.027 and 322.0261)

Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Serious Bodily Injury

  • Second-degree felony
  • Up to 15 years in prison
  • Up to $10,000 fine
  • Driver’s License revoked for at least three years (Florida Statute 316.027 and 322.0261)

Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Death

  • First-degree felony
  • 30 years in prison
  • Up to $10,000 fine
  • Driver’s License revoked for at least three years (Florida Statute 316.027 and 322.0261)

If you feel you may be charged with leaving the scene of an accident, call experienced Criminal Defense Attorney Brandon Gans today for a free consultation. All consultations are confidential whether you hire the attorney or not.

MY DUI GOT DISMISSED!!!! Words cannot describe how grateful I am of Mr. Gans hard work and dedication to my case. Not only was Mr. Gans professional with me but he made me feel at home whenever I came to his office. Mr. Gans understood the difficulty and stress that I was enduring from my case. I went to multiple Attorneys with my case and not one cared much about my case. Their biggest concern was money and how was I going to pay them. Mr. Gans was only focused on my case and how he could help me. A true Lawyer.  He reassured me multiple times that everything was going to be okay. He was right! I hope I never have to hire an Attorney again but if I do…. I will be going with Gans!

- Daniel

message us

Firm Overview

Gans Law offers a variety of services that range from criminal defense to suspended licenses. Here at Gans Law, we understand that sometimes good people find themselves dealing with complex legal matters.

Learn More

Case Results

Our Reviews

Serving all of central Florida

Orange

Orange County, FL

Osceola

Orange County, FL

Seminole

Orange County, FL

Volusia

Orange County, FL

Hillsborough

Orange County, FL
Brandon Gans

Brandon Gans

Attorney

Julie Clarke

Julie Clarke

Attorney

Will I Go To Jail For My First DUI?

If you are ever charged with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence), you’ll probably have a lot of questions, including can you go to jail for a first offense? For a first-time DUI in Florida, it depends on the severity of the case. Florida is tough on drunk driving, so...

5 Things Not to Do When Facing Criminal Charges

It can be a stressful and scary time when you are facing criminal charges. During the entirety of your criminal case, from arrest to your last court appearance, it is best to have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side. They can help you navigate this...

What To Do When There Is A Warrant Out For Your Arrest

When a criminal offense is committed, an arrest warrant may be issued to bring the person before the court. If you believe there is a warrant out for you, it is best to contact a criminal defense attorney. An attorney will have the knowledge to guide you through this...

What is a Pretrial Diversion Program?

Pretrial Diversion Programs are typically intended for first-time offenders or misdemeanor crimes. However, we can sometimes get our clients into the program if they have some criminal history or are charged with a felony. The purpose of these diversion programs is to...

What Happens If I Miss My Court Date?

If you ever miss a court date, the court issues a warrant for your arrest. As soon as you can, appear in court to recall the warrant. Acting quickly shows you are serious about the case. Failing to act quickly can lead to police showing up at your house or job and...

False Accusations

Nobody ever wants to be accused of a crime and it’s worse if you never even committed the crime. Criminal convictions carry serious penalties, including heavy fines or jail time. If you have been falsely accused of a crime, you should retain an attorney right away as...

Landmark Florida Cases

Throughout history, there have been several landmark cases that have shaped the legal landscape in Florida and even the country. Let’s take a look at some of these cases. Gideon v. Wainwright In 1961, Clarence Gideon was arrested and charged with breaking and entering...

What’s the Difference? — Careless vs. Reckless

Do you know the difference between Careless Driving and Reckless Driving? Under Florida Statute, careless driving is considered a civil offense while reckless driving is considered a criminal offense.  Reckless driving (Florida Statute 316.192) is any person who...

Live Out of State but Arrested in Florida

Being arrested is never a pleasant experience, especially when the arrest happens outside of your home state. When arrested, no matter if you’re in your home state or out of state, you likely have to post bail and appear in court.  According to Criminal Defense...

Is it Possible to Reinstate a Suspended License in Florida?

In Florida, there are a number of reasons for a suspended license, such as: Too many points; Failure to pay traffic tickets or court costs; Failure to pay red light camera tickets or toll violations; Failure to appear in court; Being deemed a habitual traffic...

News & Posts

FAQs

Trivia

Orlando, FL

(407) 500-4267

132 E. Colonial Dr, Suite 200
Orlando, FL 32801

Hours: 9:00am-6:00pm

Tampa, FL

(407) 500-4267

8200 Bryan Dairy Road Suite 340
Largo, FL 33777

Hours: By Appointment Only

407-500-4267

Send Us a Message!

More Contact Info