Under Florida law, it is a criminal offense for leaving the scene of an accident. Florida Statute 316.061 states that leaving the scene of an accident, also known as a “hit and run,” occurs when the driver of the vehicle involved in a crash resulting in damage to property leaves the scene without providing the necessary information to the owner of the property.
If you simply leave the scene of an accident with property damage and no injury has occurred, depending on if the property was attended to or not, you’ll be facing misdemeanor charges. However, if there was an injury, serious bodily injury, or death, per Florida Statutes 316.027, your driver’s license will be revoked for at least three years.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Injury
- Third-degree felony
- Up to five years in prison
- Up to $5,000 fine
Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Serious Bodily Injury
- Second-degree felony
- Up to 15 years in prison
- Up to $10,000 fine
Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Death
- First-degree felony
- 30 years in prison
- Up to $10,000 fine
If you are found to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you will receive a 2-year minimum mandatory prison sentence.
For the State to convict you of Leaving the Scene of an Accident, they do not need to prove that you caused the accident. They must simply prove that you were involved in an accident and left the scene without providing information. Therefore, you could be the victim of an accident that was not your fault and still be charged with a crime.
If your license is suspended or revoked and you cause an accident causing serious bodily injury or death, you will also be facing additional criminal charges. If your license is suspended, don’t continue driving. Your best choice is to hire experienced Central Florida criminal traffic Attorney Brandon Gans. He can help get your license reinstated and back on the road legally.
For Leaving the Scene of an Accident or Hit and Run, call Gans Law now for a free consultation. We serve all of Central Florida, including Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Lake, Polk, and Hillsborough counties.