Did you know that if you fail to pay child support, your driver’s license can be suspended? If you are 15 days past due in paying child support or fail to comply with a subpoena or order to appear, your license will be suspended.
According to Florida Statute 322.058, your license can be reinstated when you pay the delinquency fee or enter an agreement to pay the delinquency fee with the Florida Department of Revenue. You have 20 days to do so or you face having your license suspended.
If your license is suspended, do not drive. Being caught while driving on a suspended license is a criminal matter and you will be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor for a first offense. Going to court will be mandatory and you’ll be facing fines of up to $500 and 60 days in jail or probation. Plus, a conviction counts as one strike toward becoming a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO). Three strikes and you are facing a 5-year driver’s license revocation.
If your license is suspended or you are in danger of becoming a HTO, having an experienced traffic attorney on your side can help you get back on the road with a valid driver’s license.