How to Get a Hardship License in Florida

In Florida, a hardship license is a license that lets you drive for an essential purpose, usually for business or work. A business purposes only (BPO) hardship license restricts your driving to necessary activities such as commuting to and from work, driving to school or for a job, and attending church or medical visits. A BPO license restricts your driving privileges to driving only for these activities.

Anyone who has had their license suspended for having too many points on their driver’s license is a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO), or had their license restricted for another purpose, may need a hardship license to drive legally.

Florida Hardship License Requirements

To apply for a hardship license after your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked, you typically must:

  • Enroll in a Florida 12 Hour ADI (Aggressive Driver Improvement) course. You must contact your local clerk or tax collector’s office to obtain a copy of your driving record for the past 30 days.
  • You will also have to complete an application for a hardship license and bring it to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DMV), along with your driving record and proof of enrollment in the driver improvement course.

Costs for a Hardship License

In Florida, the current driver’s license reinstatement fee is $45 for any type of suspension and $75 for revocations. The ADI course usually runs around $63 and the hardship hearing filing fee is $12. Other related administrative fees must also be paid. These will depend on the moving violation.

Hardship License Eligibility

You are likely not eligible for a hardship license if you:

  • Are arrested for two or more DUIs;
  • Had a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and had it revoked;
  • Are convicted of vehicular manslaughter; or
  • Are charged with a DUI causing serious bodily injury.

Our goal at Gans Law is to help you get your driver’s license fully reinstated, without needing a hardship license. Navigating the Florida hardship license or reinstatement process can be lengthy and confusing. Call experienced Orlando Traffic Attorney Brandon Gans today to see how he can help.

Words cannot describe how grateful I am of Mr. Gans hard work and dedication to my case. Not only was Mr. Gans professional with me but he made me feel at home whenever I came to his office. Mr. Gans understood the difficulty and stress that I was enduring from my case. I went to multiple Attorneys with my case and not one cared much about my case. Their biggest concern was money and how was I going to pay them. Mr. Gans was only focused on my case and how he could help me. A true Lawyer.  He reassured me multiple times that everything was going to be okay. He was right! I hope I never have to hire an Attorney again but if I do…. I will be going with Gans!

- Gilbert

message us

Firm Overview

Gans Law offers a variety of services that range from criminal defense to suspended licenses. Here at Gans Law, we understand that sometimes good people find themselves dealing with complex legal matters.

Learn More

Case Results

Our Reviews

Serving all of central Florida









Resisting Arrest With and Without Violence in Florida

Whenever you encounter law enforcement and they go to arrest you, it is never a good idea to resist them as you can get into more trouble. If you resist arrest with violence, you’ll face even higher penalties.   Resisting Without Violence According to Florida Statute...

Florida Traffic Tickets and Your Driving Record

When you get pulled over for a moving violation, you may wonder what is going to happen to your driving record. Is it something that prospective employers can see? If you decide to fight a traffic ticket, either by taking it to court yourself or hiring an attorney,...

Why is being on probation more dangerous than you think?

When facing potential jail time, most defendants prefer to be placed on probation instead of going to jail. Probation comes with many stipulations that many defendants fail to consider. Before accepting an offer of probation, consider the following:  Florida Statute...

Misdemeanors and Felony Charges in Florida

Felonies and Misdemeanors differ in both the severity of the crime and of the penalties. Misdemeanors tend to be less severe crimes, so the punishments for these crimes tend to be lesser. The fines are relatively small, and you can only be held in jail for up to a...

What is the Penalty for First-Time DUI in Florida?

Driving Under the Influence (DUI), often referred to as “drunk driving,” is when a driver of a motor vehicle has a blood alcohol content (BAC) over the legal limit, or their normal faculties are impaired by drugs or alcohol.  A DUI conviction in Florida comes with...

What is Disorderly Conduct?

In Florida, disorderly conduct is any behavior that disrupts a public space. Some common examples include making excessively loud noise, drunk and disorderly behavior, and fighting in the street. Florida Statute 877.03 defines disorderly conduct as acts that are of a...

Can You Lose Your License for Leaving the Scene of an Accident?

Under Florida law, it is a criminal offense for leaving the scene of an accident. Florida Statute 316.061 states that leaving the scene of an accident, also known as a “hit and run,” occurs when the driver of the vehicle involved in a crash resulting in damage to...

New Florida Law: Playing Loud or Excessive Music

On July 1, 2022, a Florida law went into effect that prohibits excessive music and other sounds from being played inside the vehicle. According to Florida Statute 316.3045, it is unlawful for any person operating or occupying a motor vehicle on a street or highway to...

What’s the Difference Between Assault & Battery in Florida?

Although assault and battery offenses in Florida are similar and are discussed together, they are two distinct criminal offenses. In Florida, the main difference between assault and battery is the absence or presence of physical contact. Assault is a verbal or...

What are Ignition Interlock Devices?

An ignition interlock device (IID) is a car breathalyzer that prevents drivers from starting their car until they blow into the device. In Florida, these are required for certain driving under the influence (DUI) convictions.  An ignition interlock device is a proper...

News & Posts



Orlando, FL

711 N. Orlando Ave. Suite 302B, Maitland, FL 32751

Hours: By Appointment Only

Clearwater, FL

8200 Bryan Dairy Road Suite 340
Largo, FL 33777

Hours: By Appointment Only


Send Us a Message!

More Contact Info

// // "UPixel" code from roger@printingwarehouses.com //