fbpx

Although assault and battery offenses in Florida are similar and are discussed together, they are two distinct criminal offenses.

In Florida, the main difference between assault and battery is the absence or presence of physical contact. Assault is a verbal or physical threat of harming another, without actually causing harm or touching the other person. Battery occurs when a person causes bodily harm to another or purposely makes physical contact against the other person’s will.  

Assault in Florida

Assault is defined by Florida Statue 784.011. It is an intentional, unlawful threat by word or acts to do harm to another person, coupled with an apparent ability to do so, and doing some act that creates a well-founded fear in another person that such violence is imminent. 

Aggravated assault, an enhanced type of assault charge, is defined by Florida Statue 784.012. It is considered aggravated if it is made with a deadly weapon or while committing a felony offense. The penalties are much more severe and may carry a minimum mandatory prison sentence. 

A weapon is considered a deadly weapon if it is used or threatened to be used in a way likely to produce death or bodily harm. These weapons typically are knives, firearms, and motor vehicles.

Penalties for assault can range from a simple misdemeanor to a felony, depending on the severity of the assault. 

Simple Assault

  • Second-degree misdemeanor
  • Maximum penalty of 60 days in jail or 6 months of probation
  • $500 fine

Aggravated Assault

  • Third-degree felony
  • Maximum penalty of 5 years in prison or 5 years probation
  • $5,000 fine

The court may impose additional sanctions such as anger management classes, counseling, no contact with the victim, and do not return.

Battery in Florida

When most people think of battery they picture punching and kicking resulting in bruising, bleeding, and broken bones. However, battery can be as simple as poking someone or spitting on them. To convict someone of battery the State only needs to show an intentional unwanted touching of another. Therefore, a battery can be proven despite a lack of injury or even a lack of violence. 

The types of battery include:

  1. Misdemeanor Battery, Florida Statute 784.03;
  2. Domestic Battery by Strangulation, Florida Statute 784.041;
  3. Domestic Violence Battery, Florida Statute 741.28;
  4. Felony Battery, Florida Statute 784.041;
  5. Aggravated Battery, Florida Statute 784.045(1)(a) and
  6. Aggravated Battery on a Pregnant Person, Florida Statute 784.045 (1)(b).

Contact a Florida Assault and Battery Lawyer

If you are arrested for assault or battery, contact experienced criminal defense attorney Brandon Gans today for a free consultation. 

Firm Overview

Gans Law offers a variety of services that range from criminal defense to suspended licenses. Here at Gans Law, we understand that sometimes good people find themselves dealing with complex legal matters.

Learn More

Case Results

Our Reviews

Serving all of central Florida

Orange

Hillsborough

Osceola

Brevard

Seminole

Polk

Volusia

Pinellas

What is Disorderly Conduct?

In Florida, disorderly conduct is any behavior that disrupts a public space. Some common examples include making excessively loud noise, drunk and disorderly behavior, and fighting in the street. Florida Statute 877.03 defines disorderly conduct as acts that are of a...

Can You Lose Your License for Leaving the Scene of an Accident?

Under Florida law, it is a criminal offense for leaving the scene of an accident. Florida Statute 316.061 states that leaving the scene of an accident, also known as a “hit and run,” occurs when the driver of the vehicle involved in a crash resulting in damage to...

New Florida Law: Playing Loud or Excessive Music

On July 1, 2022, a Florida law went into effect that prohibits excessive music and other sounds from being played inside the vehicle. According to Florida Statute 316.3045, it is unlawful for any person operating or occupying a motor vehicle on a street or highway to...

What are Ignition Interlock Devices?

An ignition interlock device (IID) is a car breathalyzer that prevents drivers from starting their car until they blow into the device. In Florida, these are required for certain driving under the influence (DUI) convictions.  An ignition interlock device is a proper...

What are the benefits of having your record expunged?

If you have ever been arrested in Florida, whether or not the charges were dropped or a jury found you “Not Guilty,” your arrest is still public record. To prevent anyone from viewing your criminal record, you would want to look into having it sealed or expunged.  Not...

Real Life Criminal Court vs. TV Court

The courtroom dramas you see on television are fictionalized versions of what actually happens in real-life criminal court. On TV, it seems as if every criminal case goes to a trial and the defense and prosecution have to present their cases in front of a jury....

Orlando Street Racing Attorney

In Florida, street racing occurs when the driver competitively drives a vehicle in a speeding contest. Florida Statute 316.191 outlines the four aspects of racing in Florida: Speed or acceleration contest - driving any vehicle (including motorcycles) in any race,...

Can Florida Toll Violations Lead to a License Suspension?

In Florida, drivers are accustomed to the many toll roads across the state. With the advancements in technology, drivers can now use their E-Pass or SunPass to quickly pass through the toll booths. However, as with all technology, complications can arise, such as not...

Why Should I Hire a DUI Attorney?

If you get caught driving under the influence, you will be charged with a criminal case and will have to appear in court. This is something you can try and fight on your own, however, it is not recommended. Driving Under the Influence cases are very serious and the...

What is an SR-22 Document & Do I Need It?

There is a common misconception that SR-22 is insurance coverage. An SR-22 (“Safety Responsibility”) document is required when a driver is seeking to reinstate their license after it has been suspended for any reason, including a DUI conviction or reckless driving....

News & Posts

FAQs

Trivia

Sanford, FL

(407) 500-4267

400 W. 25th St
Sanford, FL 32771

Hours: By Appointment Only

Clearwater, FL

(407) 500-4267

8200 Bryan Dairy Road Suite 340
Largo, FL 33777

Hours: By Appointment Only

Send Us a Message!

407-500-4267

More Contact Info