fbpx

If you are ever charged with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence), you’ll probably have a lot of questions, including can you go to jail for a first offense? For a first-time DUI in Florida, it depends on the severity of the case. Florida is tough on drunk driving, so the penalties can be quite severe.

In Florida, the legal limit is .08 BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration). If the driver is under the age of 21, it is .02 BAC, according to Florida Statute 322.2616, while the limit for an “enhanced penalty” is .15 BAC. If you are caught blowing over a .08 BAC, you can expect to be held in jail for a “drying out” period.

Florida has an implied consent law, which requires the driver to comply with the officer’s request to take a breath test. Failure to do so results in a mandatory 12-month suspension of the person’s driver’s license. A second refusal results in an 18-month suspension and a separate criminal charge.

 

DUI Penalties

 

Typical penalties for a first-time DUI conviction include probation, driver’s license suspension, community service, classes, fines of not less than $500 or more than $1,000, and jail for not more than six months. If your BAC was over .15 or if you had a minor in the vehicle, you can expect enhanced penalties but will not receive more than nine months of jail time.

Even if it was your first DUI, there can be more severe penalties for instances of causing serious bodily injury, property damage, or death.  For any of these instances, jail time is a real possibility.

Some other consequences of a DUI can include an alcohol treatment program, such as Alcoholics Anonymous. The court can also order you to install an Ignition Interlock Device for at least 6 continuous months on all vehicles that are individually or jointly leased or owned and routinely operated by the convicted person.

Your license will also be suspended after you are convicted. Anyone under 21 or holding a CDL may have their license suspended immediately.

 

DUI Attorney

DUIs are very complicated and challenging for everyone involved and can be devastating if the driver is convicted. DUI Defense Attorney Brandon Gans has a great deal of experience representing clients that were issued DUIs and uses this experience to fight for his clients in criminal court as well as in DMV hearings

Firm Overview

Gans Law offers a variety of services that range from criminal defense to suspended licenses. Here at Gans Law, we understand that sometimes good people find themselves dealing with complex legal matters.

Learn More

Case Results

Our Reviews

Serving all of central Florida

Orange

Orange County, FL

Osceola

Orange County, FL

Seminole

Orange County, FL

Volusia

Orange County, FL

Hillsborough

Orange County, FL
Brandon Gans

Brandon Gans

Attorney

Julie Clarke

Julie Clarke

Attorney

5 Things Not to Do When Facing Criminal Charges

It can be a stressful and scary time when you are facing criminal charges. During the entirety of your criminal case, from arrest to your last court appearance, it is best to have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side. They can help you navigate this...

What To Do When There Is A Warrant Out For Your Arrest

When a criminal offense is committed, an arrest warrant may be issued to bring the person before the court. If you believe there is a warrant out for you, it is best to contact a criminal defense attorney. An attorney will have the knowledge to guide you through this...

What is a Pretrial Diversion Program?

Pretrial Diversion Programs are typically intended for first-time offenders or misdemeanor crimes. However, we can sometimes get our clients into the program if they have some criminal history or are charged with a felony. The purpose of these diversion programs is to...

What Happens If I Miss My Court Date?

If you ever miss a court date, the court issues a warrant for your arrest. As soon as you can, appear in court to recall the warrant. Acting quickly shows you are serious about the case. Failing to act quickly can lead to police showing up at your house or job and...

False Accusations

Nobody ever wants to be accused of a crime and it’s worse if you never even committed the crime. Criminal convictions carry serious penalties, including heavy fines or jail time. If you have been falsely accused of a crime, you should retain an attorney right away as...

Landmark Florida Cases

Throughout history, there have been several landmark cases that have shaped the legal landscape in Florida and even the country. Let’s take a look at some of these cases. Gideon v. Wainwright In 1961, Clarence Gideon was arrested and charged with breaking and entering...

What’s the Difference? — Careless vs. Reckless

Do you know the difference between Careless Driving and Reckless Driving? Under Florida Statute, careless driving is considered a civil offense while reckless driving is considered a criminal offense.  Reckless driving (Florida Statute 316.192) is any person who...

Live Out of State but Arrested in Florida

Being arrested is never a pleasant experience, especially when the arrest happens outside of your home state. When arrested, no matter if you’re in your home state or out of state, you likely have to post bail and appear in court.  According to Criminal Defense...

Is it Possible to Reinstate a Suspended License in Florida?

In Florida, there are a number of reasons for a suspended license, such as: Too many points; Failure to pay traffic tickets or court costs; Failure to pay red light camera tickets or toll violations; Failure to appear in court; Being deemed a habitual traffic...

How COVID-19 is Impacting the Court System

Today, what one would typically expect at Court has been slightly altered by COVID-19. As a result of COVID-19, each courthouse in each circuit have administrative orders that control what is occurring during this pandemic. For most Florida Judicial Circuits, this...

News & Posts

FAQs

Trivia

Orlando, FL

(407) 500-4267

132 E. Colonial Dr, Suite 200
Orlando, FL 32801

Hours: 9:00am-6:00pm

Tampa, FL

(407) 500-4267

8200 Bryan Dairy Road Suite 340
Largo, FL 33777

Hours: By Appointment Only

407-500-4267

Send Us a Message!

More Contact Info