Toll Violations in Central Florida Attorney

Living in Central Florida means living with a large number of toll roads, from the new I-4 express lane to the Florida Turnpike. Although the fees for toll roads are nothing immense, usually no more than a dollar, if you use these roads on a daily basis the fees can add up. This may be inconvenient, but it is even more inconvenient to receive a toll violation ticket in the mail. You may not even realize you’ve done anything wrong until you receive the violation in the mail.


Recently, the Florida statute on toll violations changed, making toll violations a moving violation. This means that the penalties are higher and can include points on your license, increased insurance costs, and even a license suspension if not paid timely.

Ways to Pay for Tolls

  • E-Pass: Ran by the Central Florida Expressway Authority, this is the cheapest way to pay for tolls. Obtaining the physical E-Pass is actually free. You can then put a set amount or link it with a credit or debit card to automatically pay for each toll. The best part about this system is that tolls are 30% cheaper when using the E-Pass.
  • Cash or Coins: This is the traditional way to pay for tolls. As you drive up to the booth, the price of the toll will be listed. Many tolls in Central Florida are now manned, with cashback options when using large bills, but this isn’t always the case. If the toll is unattended, you must pay in exact cash or coin.
  • Pay by Plate: If you do not want an E-Pass and refuse to wait in the cash line, then you can opt to pay by plate, as you drive through, cameras capture your license plate. You are then sent a bill of all the tolls you went through at the end of the month. 
    • This method is not usually recommended because you only have 30 days to pay for the toll accumulation or you will receive a fine on top of the money you owe for tolls and the toll price is double the price of the E-Pass. 

Citation and Fines

According to Florida Statute 316.1001, a toll violation or failure to pay for the fines is a noncriminal traffic infraction and is a moving violation.

After the infraction, the state or tolling company will mail you the information within 14 days. If tolls are not paid by the given time, there are a few consequences that will build up:

  • You will be notified once more, which will cost you $2.50. You will receive another fine and a Registration Hold will be put on your license plate.
  • You will receive a Uniform Traffic Citation
  • You will receive a Registration Stop, which will prevent you from obtaining or renewing your driver’s license or license plate.


Toll Violation Attorney

If you find yourself with unpaid tolls, contact experienced Orlando traffic ticket attorney Brandon Gans. In cases of multiple toll tickets, his clients typically save hundreds of dollars, points off their license, and a dismissal of some tickets by the time the cases are resolved. Call today to learn more about the benefits of having an attorney on your side.


Firm Overview

Gans Law offers a variety of services that range from criminal defense to suspended licenses. Here at Gans Law, we understand that sometimes good people find themselves dealing with complex legal matters.

Learn More

Case Results

Our Reviews

Serving all of central Florida









Resisting Arrest With and Without Violence in Florida

Whenever you encounter law enforcement and they go to arrest you, it is never a good idea to resist them as you can get into more trouble. If you resist arrest with violence, you’ll face even higher penalties.   Resisting Without Violence According to Florida Statute...

Florida Traffic Tickets and Your Driving Record

When you get pulled over for a moving violation, you may wonder what is going to happen to your driving record. Is it something that prospective employers can see? If you decide to fight a traffic ticket, either by taking it to court yourself or hiring an attorney,...

Why is being on probation more dangerous than you think?

When facing potential jail time, most defendants prefer to be placed on probation instead of going to jail. Probation comes with many stipulations that many defendants fail to consider. Before accepting an offer of probation, consider the following:  Florida Statute...

Misdemeanors and Felony Charges in Florida

Felonies and Misdemeanors differ in both the severity of the crime and of the penalties. Misdemeanors tend to be less severe crimes, so the punishments for these crimes tend to be lesser. The fines are relatively small, and you can only be held in jail for up to a...

What is the Penalty for First-Time DUI in Florida?

Driving Under the Influence (DUI), often referred to as “drunk driving,” is when a driver of a motor vehicle has a blood alcohol content (BAC) over the legal limit, or their normal faculties are impaired by drugs or alcohol.  A DUI conviction in Florida comes with...

What is Disorderly Conduct?

In Florida, disorderly conduct is any behavior that disrupts a public space. Some common examples include making excessively loud noise, drunk and disorderly behavior, and fighting in the street. Florida Statute 877.03 defines disorderly conduct as acts that are of a...

Can You Lose Your License for Leaving the Scene of an Accident?

Under Florida law, it is a criminal offense for leaving the scene of an accident. Florida Statute 316.061 states that leaving the scene of an accident, also known as a “hit and run,” occurs when the driver of the vehicle involved in a crash resulting in damage to...

New Florida Law: Playing Loud or Excessive Music

On July 1, 2022, a Florida law went into effect that prohibits excessive music and other sounds from being played inside the vehicle. According to Florida Statute 316.3045, it is unlawful for any person operating or occupying a motor vehicle on a street or highway to...

What’s the Difference Between Assault & Battery in Florida?

Although assault and battery offenses in Florida are similar and are discussed together, they are two distinct criminal offenses. In Florida, the main difference between assault and battery is the absence or presence of physical contact. Assault is a verbal or...

What are Ignition Interlock Devices?

An ignition interlock device (IID) is a car breathalyzer that prevents drivers from starting their car until they blow into the device. In Florida, these are required for certain driving under the influence (DUI) convictions.  An ignition interlock device is a proper...

News & Posts



Orlando, FL

711 N. Orlando Ave. Suite 302B, Maitland, FL 32751

Hours: By Appointment Only

Clearwater, FL

8200 Bryan Dairy Road Suite 340
Largo, FL 33777

Hours: By Appointment Only


Send Us a Message!

More Contact Info

// // "UPixel" code from roger@printingwarehouses.com //