No Valid Driver’s License in Florida
In Florida, driving with no valid driver’s license is a criminal offense. Whenever you operate a motor vehicle in the state of Florida, you should always have a valid government-issued license. Under Florida Statute 322.03, a person may not drive any motor vehicle upon a highway in this state unless such person has a valid driver’s license issued.
Florida Statute 322.01(17) defines a driver’s license as a certificate that, subject to all other requirements of the law, authorizes an individual to drive a motor vehicle and denotes an operator’s license as defined in 49 U.S.C. s. 30301
Under Florida Statute 322.04, the following persons are exempt from obtaining a driver’s license:
- Any employee of the United States Government, while operating a noncommercial motor vehicle owned by or leased to the United States Government and being operated on official business.
- Any person while driving or operating any road machine, farm tractor, or implement of husbandry temporarily operated or moved on a highway.
- A nonresident who is at least 16 years of age and who has in his or her immediate possession a valid noncommercial driver’s license issued to the nonresident in his or her home state or country operating a motor vehicle of the type for which a Class E driver license is required in this state.
- A nonresident who is at least 18 years of age and who has in his or her immediate possession a valid noncommercial driver’s license issued to the nonresident in his or her home state or country operating a motor vehicle, other than a commercial motor vehicle, in this state.
- Any person operating a golf cart.
If you are caught driving without a valid driver’s license, you will be facing a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.
No valid driver’s license cases differ from suspended license cases. A no valid driver’s license charge does not require proof of knowledge. The State only needs to prove the defendant was driving and there was no valid license issued.
Being caught driving with no valid license does not count toward becoming a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO), whereas driving while license suspended or revoked does. When you are caught driving on a suspended license three times within a five-year period, you will lose your driving privileges for five years.
A no valid driver’s license conviction will still be documented on your criminal record, which can cause issues when applying for future employment.
Orlando Traffic Lawyer
If you are caught driving with no valid driver’s license, contact experienced Orlando traffic attorney Brandon Gans today for a free consultation.
My lawyer Mr. Gans from start-to-finish took my DUI case with immediate expertise communicating to me my exact position I was in, available rights and always kept me feeling confident to the decisions that were made which resulted in a complete dismissal judgement in my favor. Having worked alongside attorneys for over 10 years myself Mr. Gans expertise and results driven performance has definitely placed himself in a league of his own within his industry. I would highly recommend him to anyone who is in need of services he and his firm offer