Red Light Camera Tickets in Florida
It can be confusing and irritating when you receive a ticket in the mail, especially when you have no recollection of being stopped by the police. This has been the case for many Floridians since 2017 when red light cameras were again deemed legal.
How Did you Receive the Infraction?
The infraction itself may have been caused by a number of scenarios which include:
- Failure to stop at a red light
- Turning right at a red light without a complete stop
- Stopping past the crosswalk or stop line
These cameras are equipped with motion sensors, which go off if a vehicle is detected crossing that stop line. The camera not only takes multiple pictures of your vehicle and license plate but also can take up to a 12-second video of the alleged violation.
If you are caught on the camera, a law enforcement officer will review the footage and determine if you should receive a red light camera violation. You will receive a notice of violation letter in the mail.
If you pay the violation within 30 days, the fine you’ll incur is usually $158 but depends on the county. However, if you pay the violation, you will receive no points on your license and it will not appear on your driving record.
If you do not pay the fine within the given 30 days, a Uniform Traffic Citation (UTC) will be issued to you. Then the fine will increase to $262 depending on the county. Not only that but now paying the citation will result in an entry on your driving record.
If you continue to not pay for the violation, the state will suspend your license for failure to pay, in addition to a growing list of fines.
Being charged with driving while your license is suspended while you did have knowledge of your suspension, such as after failing to pay your red light camera violation, is a criminal matter and you will be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor for a first offense.
Contact Gans Law
The most pain-free way to deal with these violations is to pay the Notice of Violation within 30 days, as it is a reduced fine of $158 and will not appear on your driving record. If you do not pay it and a Uniform Traffic Citation is issued with an increased fine of $262, you’ll want to contact Orlando traffic Attorney Brandon Gans today. Serving all of Central Florida, including Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Volusia, Brevard, and Hillsborough counties, he can represent you in court and fight for a reduced fine and no conviction on your driving record.