Permitting an Unauthorized Person to Drive in Florida
In Florida, under Florida Statute 322.36, a person may not knowingly permit someone to operate their motor vehicle unless that person is duly authorized. You will be charged with a criminal traffic offense if you are caught allowing an unauthorized person to drive your car.
Who is Considered an Unauthorized Person?
A person is unauthorized to drive a motor vehicle if they:
- Do not have a driver’s license
- Have a suspended license
- Have an expired license
- Have a revoked license
- Have a canceled license
- Are a Habitual Traffic Offender
Penalties for Allowing an Unauthorized Person to Drive
If you allow an unauthorized person to drive your car, it is a second-degree misdemeanor and will appear on your criminal record. You will also face a $500 fine, up to 60 days in jail, and up to six months of probation.
Since this offense is not only a criminal offense but a traffic violation, you will also face increased insurance rates and your license could be suspended.
If you loan your vehicle to someone knowing their license is suspended and they are in an accident resulting in bodily harm or death, your driver’s license will be suspended for one year.
Contact Gans Law Today
Here at Gans Law, we have over 10 years of experience defending criminal traffic violations in Central Florida. Give us a call today to speak with Florida criminal traffic attorney Brandon Gans for a free consultation.
My lawyer Mr. Gans from start-to-finish took my DUI case with immediate expertise communicating to me my exact position I was in, available rights and always kept me feeling confident to the decisions that were made which resulted in a complete dismissal judgement in my favor. Having worked alongside attorneys for over 10 years myself Mr. Gans expertise and results driven performance has definitely placed himself in a league of his own within his industry. I would highly recommend him to anyone who is in need of services he and his firm offer