How Long Do Points Stay on My Record in Florida?
When you receive a traffic citation in Florida, not only are you facing fines and possibly a court date, but you are also facing points on your record. Most moving violations result in 3 or 4 points, but more serious infractions can carry up to 6 points.
In Florida, if you elect to pay the fine on your traffic citation, once it clears with the county, the points will stay on your record for 36 months or 3 years. If you opt to go to court to try and fight the ticket and are adjudicated guilty, the 36 months start as soon as you satisfy the court requirements. You can also be facing higher insurance premiums during the 3 years if you lose your “Safe Driver” status.
Once you pay a ticket or are found guilty in court, the ticket will go onto your driving record forever. However, you can avoid the points by electing traffic school or hiring a traffic ticket attorney. Keep in mind that you can only elect traffic school once in a 12-month period and no more than 5 times in your life.
If you have too many points on your driving record, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend or revoke your license. You could also be facing increased insurance premiums.
If you have a commercial driver’s license and get cited for a moving violation, you cannot have the points removed or reduced from your record by attending traffic school. Florida requires CDL drivers who receive a ticket to either pay the fee or set a hearing. It is best to consult an experienced traffic attorney who understands commercial driving laws.
If you receive a traffic ticket in Orlando, contact experienced traffic ticket attorney Brandon Gans now for a free consultation.