Expired Vehicle Registration in Florida
In Florida, you must keep your vehicle registration up to date. Under Florida Statute 320.07, anyone caught driving with a registration that has expired for 6 months or less commits a non-moving violation. You will be charged with a fine in addition to their renewal and late fees.
If the registration has expired for more than 6 months, it is still a civil traffic infraction. However, if you have a prior conviction for expired registration over 6 months and commit a second violation, it could be charged as a second-degree misdemeanor. If this is the case, it is punishable by up to 60 days in jail, and 6 months of probation, and will show up on your criminal record. You can also be facing higher insurance premiums.
Registering your motor vehicle in Florida requires the owner to submit the original title and proof of Florida insurance to their local county tax collector’s office or license plate agency. The yellow registration sticker is issued by the tax collector and placed on the registered owner’s license plate. This serves as proof that the registration fees have been paid.
Under Florida Statute 320.07, the registration period expires at midnight on the last day of the registration period. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) interprets this as the registration expires at midnight on the owner’s birth date.
If you receive a ticket for expired registration, whether a civil or criminal violation, call experienced traffic attorney Brandon Gans for a free consultation.